Adobe Backtracks


Adobe caused a stir last November after changing its upgrade policy to only cover one version back instead of three. This meant that only Photoshop CS5 owners would qualify for the upgrade price on CS6 when it’s launched, leaving CS3 and CS4 owners the not-so-nice option of buying the CS5 upgrade before buying the CS6 one. Perhaps in response to the angry customer response, Adobe announced a “special offer” for CS3 and CS4 owners today:

[…] we want to make sure our customers have plenty of time to determine which offering is best for them. Therefore, we’re pleased to announce that we will offer special introductory upgrade pricing on Creative Suite 6 to customers who own CS3 or CS4. This offer will be available from the time CS6 is released until December 31, 2012.

We’ll find out just how much of a discount those users will receive once CS6 is released. It also appears that Adobe isn’t planning to restore the old upgrade policy — today’s announcement is more of a one-time fix for angry customers.

Meanwhile, Adobe have released a Beta version of Lightroom 4 which is free to download on a trial basis from the  Adobe website here.  The new features can be previewed in a 20min video here

3 responses to “Adobe Backtracks

  1. I am trying out the beta version, and printed a multiple image B&W page successfully. (I normally use Lightroom 3 to produce my prints). The new basic controls are going to take a bit of getting used to, but I feel they are more flexible, though I have still to get comfortable with them. Have a look at the video.
    Frank

  2. I have to confess to being a bit of a Luddite where upgrades are concerned. I’m still on Lightroom 2 and find it does all I need to do, and more. I purchased it using a student license, as I was studying a course at the time, but you can’t upgrade a student license.

    I worked in IT for 20 years and am confident with using a wide variety of IT systems – but when it comes to leisure I’d rather spend time taking photos than learning new software features.

    Kevin

  3. I am a fan of Lightroom and use version 3 in my basic workflow for all general adjustments (cropping, exposure, colour, spotting, white balance etc) to images from the RAW file.

    I switch to Photoshop for more selective work (including layers, adjustment layers, healing brush, gradients and the like) as I have never felt wholly comfortable with the brush tools in Lightroom.

    Upgrades can be very seductive (I guess that’s the point of them) but I try to reach a sensible judgement based on my likely use of the new features they offer. I think what’s important is to have a clearly defined basic workflow that you are comfortable with – whatever specific software you prefer to use.

Leave a Reply

